Weekly Update September 3 [Sunday Post/Stacking the Shelves]

Books That Hook header

The Sunday Post is a meme hosted by Kimba the Caffeinated Book Reviewer.

It’s a chance for book bloggers to share news, give updates, and recap the previous week.

Stacking the Shelves is hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. It’s a weekly meme to share your new books.

Sunday Post meme image (September 3)

Stacking the Shelves

BTH Reviews Weekly Update (September 3)

Weekly Update September 3, 2017

What’s Been Going On…

Blog Changes

I can finally take a big breath of relief because the blog is now working correctly. After going through theme after theme, I’m finally using one that does everything I want it to do. So, I’m really happy, and I like how it’s turned out. I’ve done a lot of work to set everything up. The only thing I have to do now is to continue to add content, both old and new.

Well, there is still one little thing bothering me. Maybe if you are computer savvy, you’ll know the answer to this: How do I make all the images on the home page stay the same size (or close to it), so the grid will line up better?

My Luck is Turning (?)

Although I won’t hold my breath, things didn’t seem as bad this week. In fact, I found a $10 bill on the ground. Maybe my luck is finally getting better. I really hope so.

Thank you for all the prayers!

No Photo Opportunity This Week

Honestly, I forgot about this part of the weekly update. There might have been a chance to get a good picture of something, but I didn’t think about it. Busy, busy!

Stacking the Shelves

I received three books in the mail this week, courtesy of William Morrow (a division of Harper Collins). I’m really excited to start reading these! I’ve put them on my schedule to make sure I have them all read before their release dates.

Blurbs

The Names of Dead Girls:

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Eric Rickstad delivers another Canaan Crime novel, the electrifying sequel to The Silent Girls, and features once again detectives Frank Rath and Sonja Test as they track a depraved killer through rural Vermont.

Every murder tells a story. Some stories never end . . .

In a remote northern Vermont town, college student Rachel Rath is being watched. She can feel the stranger’s eyes on her, relentless and possessive. And she’s sure the man watching her is the same man who killed her mother and father years ago: Ned Preacher, a serial rapist and murderer who gamed the system to get a light sentence. Now, he’s free.

Detective Frank Rath adopted Rachel, his niece, after the shocking murder of her parents when she was a baby. Ever since, Rath’s tried to protect her from the true story of her parents’ deaths. But now Preacher is calling Rath to torment him. He’s threatening Rachel and plotting cruelties for her, of the flesh and of the mindWhen other girls are found brutally murdered, and a woman goes missing, Rath and Detective Sonja Test must untangle the threads that tie these new crimes and some long-ago nightmares together. Soon they will learn that the truth is more perverse than anyone could guess, rife with secrets, cruel desires, and warped, deadly loyalty.

Mesmerizing, startling, and intricately plotted, The Names of Dead Girls builds relentlessly on its spellbinding premise, luring readers into its dark and macabre mystery, right to its shocking end.

The Missing:

In this harrowing psychological thriller about a missing teenage boy whose mother must expose the secrets within their own family if she wants to find her son—perfect for fans of Reconstructing Amelia.

You love your family. They make you feel safe. You trust them. Or do you…?

When fifteen-year-old Billy Wilkinson goes missing in the middle of the night, his mother, Claire Wilkinson, blames herself. She’s not the only one. There isn’t a single member of Billy’s family that doesn’t feel guilty. But the Wilkinsons are so used to keeping secrets from one another that it isn’t until six months later, after an appeal for information goes horribly wrong, that the truth begins to surface.

Claire is sure of two things—that Billy is still alive and that her friends and family had nothing to do with his disappearance.

A mother’s instinct is never wrong. Or is it…?

Combining an unreliable narrator and fast-paced storytelling, The Missing is a chilling novel of psychological suspense that will thoroughly captivate and obsess readers.

Killing Season:

New York Times bestselling author Faye Kellerman delivers an electrifying novel of suspense as a young man’s investigation into his sister’s death draws him into the path of a sadistic serial killer.

He went searching for the truth. Now a killer has found him.

The more you know, the more there is to fear…

Four years ago, fifteen-year-old Ellen Vicksburg went missing in the quiet town of River Remez, New Mexico. Ellen was kind, studious, and universally liked. Her younger brother, Ben, could imagine nothing worse than never knowing what happened to her—until, on the first anniversary of her death, he found her body in a shallow grave by the river’s edge.

Ben, now sixteen, is committed to finding the monster who abducted and strangled Ellen. Police believe she was the victim of a psychopath known as the Demon. But Ben—a math geek too smart for his high-school classes—continues to pore over the evidence at the local police precinct, gaining an unlikely ally in his school’s popular new girl, Ro Majors. In his sister’s files, Ben’s analytical mind sees patterns that don’t fit, tiny threads that he adds to the clues from other similar unsolved murders. As the body count rises, a picture emerges of an adversary who is as cunning and methodical as he is twisted.

At first the police view Ben’s investigation with suspicion. Soon his obsession will mark him as a threat. But uncovering the truth may not be enough to keep Ben and those he loves safe from a relentless killer who has nothing left to lose.

What I Posted Since the Last Update…

Book Releases on August 28

Book Releases on August 29

The Gauntlet by Karen Chance (short story review)

Wyoming Brave by Diana Palmer (novel review)

Blogging: 5 Ways to Get Free Books

I also added a September 2017 Book Releases page and a Historical Romance page (still needs more work).

Plans for the Upcoming Week…

The Sweetest Burn cover

I am expecting this week to be emotionally hard on me. My oldest son is leaving for Navy bootcamp on Tuesday or Wednesday–they haven’t said which day yet. Although we’ve had our differences, I will miss him terribly.

I will be reviewing THE SWEETEST BURN by Jeaniene Frost today. Once I get it done, I’ll come back to this page and add a link to the image. After that, I’m going to rewrite another review from the old blog and schedule it to post tomorrow. I’m not sure yet which one it will be.

I don’t think I will be making any book release posts for September 3 or 4. I’ll probably have one up for the 5th, because Tuesdays are typically when the most books come out.

I will also be working on pages, probably more than posts, until I get them set up sufficiently.

 

That’s all for the Weekly Update September 3, 2017.

Have a great week of reading and whatever else you have planned!

About jpschaper

In addition to being a book blogger, I am a mother of three children, a retail backroom coordinator, and a wannabe writer (when I make time to do it).

Bookmark the permalink.

20 Comments

  1. I’ll be thinking of you this week and you send your son off to the Navy. Finding $10 sure is lucky. Hopefully it is a sign of good things to come. 🙂 Your new books look really good. It’s been a long while since I read a Faye Kellerman book.

    Have a great week, Jen!

  2. The blog looks great! Glad you got it all sorted out. (The home page looks good, so I’m assuming you figured that out.)
    Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction recently posted…Sunday Post & Giveaways Galore – 9/3/17My Profile

  3. Your blog looks wonderful, it’s hard to decide on a theme. I always enjoy a good mystery, I’ll have to look into some of these. I hope you enjoy them and have a wonderful day.

  4. Ooh the Kellermans; like her Peter Decker series and her husband’s Alex Delaware series… of course, Killing Season is neither of those but it definitely sounds interesting. Hope good luck continues to flow your way (reaching out for some myself). Blessings.
    Joanne recently posted…Out Dey!My Profile

  5. I’m glad that it’s finally working. I know it’s frustrating when the blog isn’t working. For the images, try the pluggin ‘swifty image widget’. I use it. Anyway, awesome layout! Your blog looks awesome; you did a wonderful job. 😁❤️

    Enjoy your new books and have a wonderful week.

  6. Congrats on the new blog format. It can be a real pain to make changes like that. I don’t have any tech savvy help for you though. 🙁 Sorry. I hope you enjoy your books!

    SP & STS
    Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

  7. I can totally understand that you’re emotional about your oldest leaving for Navy boot camp. No matter what kind of differences we may have with our kids, we do love them. I’ll send you some good vibes today and tomorrow.
    I hope your luck will continue to be good! Finding money is a good sign, right?
    Your new books look really good.
    Have a wonderful week and happy reading.
    Lexxie @ (un)Conventional Bookviews recently posted…Review: Two Footsteps – Belle BrooksMy Profile

    • Well, things didn’t work out as planned. The Navy recruiter told my son the job went to someone else and he couldn’t leave yet. It really sucked because my son had already quit his job with no notice and made his boss really mad (ruining any chance of staying). So, I don’t know what he’s going to do now while he’s waiting for new orders from the Navy.
      Anyway, thanks for your kind words. Have a great week!

  8. You’ve found a tenner! I don’t think that’s ever happened to me 🙂 only cents! Sounds like a good week, haha 😀 have another great one!
    Evelina @ AvalinahsBooks recently posted…Oops, I Don’t Like A Famous BookMy Profile

    • Maybe around twenty years ago, I was coming out of the mall during Christmas time. I found a $100 bill on the ground. That was the most I have ever found.
      Thanks for visiting.

  9. I hope your son got off safely to boot camp. I applaud him him for his commitment and hope he does well. (My husband is a 20 year Navy veteran.)

    I haven’t read anything by Faye Kellerman in years. I went through a yesteryear phase several years ago and while I preferred books by her husband Jonathan, I did read a few by her as well. If I remember right they were part of a series with a Jewish woman and a non-Jewish man. That seems familiar anyway. 🙂 Hope you enjoy the new books!
    Tanya @ Girl Plus Books recently posted…Trailer Reveal + Giveaway: If There’s No Tomorrow by Jennifer L. ArmentroutMy Profile

  10. Changing blog themes is always such a pain. Yours is looking great though. Hope you’re having a great week 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge